Current Trials
Completed Trials


Chair and Co-Chair

Richard Weisel, MD (Chair) Toronto General Hospital
Patrick T. O’Gara, MD (Co-Chair) Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Eric A. Rose, MD (Vice Chair) Mount Sinai Medical Center
Timothy Gardner, MD (Chair Emeritus) Christiana Care Health System

Core Clinical Centers — Principal Investigators and Lead Coordinators

Baylor Research InstituteMichael Mack, MD
William Ryan, MD
Robert Smith, MD
Tracine Adame, RN, CRC
Cleveland Clinic FoundationBruce Lytle, MD
Eugene Blackstone, MD
Mark Gillinov, MD
Kathy Sankovic, RN, CCRP
Duke University Peter Smith, MD
John Alexander, MD
Stacey Welsh, RN
Hôpital Laval de QuébecPierre Voisine, MD
Mario Senechal, MD
Gladys Dussault
Montefiore Einstein Heart Center Robert Michler, MD
David D’Alessandro, MD
Joseph De Rose, MD
Daniel Goldstein, MD
Roger Swayze, RN, BSN, MBA
Montreal Heart Institute Louis Perrault, MD
Michel Carrier, MD
Sophie Robichaud, RT
NIH Heart Center at Suburban HospitalKeith Horvath, MD
Philip Corcoran, MD
Mandy Murphy, RN, CCRC
University of PennsylvaniaMichael A. Acker, MD
Mary Lou Mayer, RN, CRC
University of Southern CaliforniaMichael Bowdish, MD
Vaughn A. Starnes, MD
David Shavelle, MD
Christine Heck, MD
Becky Lopez, RN
Edward Lozano
University of Virginia Irving L. Kron, MD
Karen Johnston, MD
Sandra G. Burks, RN

Consortium Sites

Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal, CHUMNicolas Noiseux, MD
Louis-Mathieu Stevens, MD
Ignacio Prieto, MD
Fadi Basile, MD
Joannie Dionne
Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de MontréalHugues Jeanmart, MD
Carole Sirois
Sunnybrook Health Sciences CentreGideon-Nehemia Cohen, MD
Reena Karkhanis, MBBS, DA
The Ohio State University Medical Center Chittor Sai-Sudhakar, MBBS
Ayseha Hasan, MD
Asia McDavid
Brigham and Women’s HospitalFrederick Y. Chen, MD, PhD
Anju Nohria, MD
Christiana CareRay Blackwell, MD
Andrea M. Squire
Columbia University Michael Argenziano, MD
Lyn Goldsmith, MA, RN, BSN, CCRC
Emory University Vinod Thourani, MD
Alexis Neill, RN, MSN
Mission HospitalMark A. Groh, MD
Mount Sinai Hospital, NYDavid Adams, MD
John Puskas, MD
Robin Varghese
St Michael’s Hospital TorontoDavid Latter, MD
Randi Feder-Elituv
Toronto General Hospital Terrence Yau, MD
Lisa Garrard
University of AlbertaJohn C. Mullen, MD, MSc
Emily Kuurstra
University of MarylandJames S. Gammie, MD
University of MichiganSteven Bolling, MD
Cathie Bloem, MPH, RN

Collaborating Network

Cardiovascular Cell Therapy Research Network

Data Coordinating Center (DCC)

International Center for Health Outcomes and Innovation Research (InCHOIR)
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
One Gustave L. Levy Place, Box 1077
New York, NY 10029 USA
Main Number: 212-659-9567
Fax: 212-423-2998

DCC Leadership

  • Annetine C. Gelijns, PhD
  • Michael K. Parides, PhD
  • Deborah D. Ascheim, MD
  • Alan J. Moskowitz, MD
  • Ellen Moquete, RN, BSN
  • Emilia Bagiella, PhD
  • Mary Ann Kral, PA-C, MS

DCC Administrative Support

  • Melissa Chase, MPA
  • Milerva Santos, BS

DCC Trial Coordination

  • Seth Goldfarb
  • Kinjal Shah, PA-C
  • Anlami Shaw, MBA
  • Paula Williams, MS

Regulatory and Monitoring

  • Karen O’Sullivan, MPH
  • James Foo, MAS
  • Cassandra Pineda, MPH
  • Andrea Ratner, RN
  • Deborah Williams, BSN, MPH

DCC Biostatistics and Data Management

  • Helena Chang, MS
  • Lopa Gupta, MPH
  • Katherine Kirkwood, MS
  • Jessica Overbey, MS
  • Wei Shi
  • Maria Suprun

DCC Informatics

  • Ron Levitan, DipCompSci
  • Edlira Kumbarce, MS
  • Jacqueline Sham, MS
  • Xia (Terry) Ye, BS
  • Virginia Chan, BS

National Institutes of Health


  • Marissa Miller, DVM, MPH (Program Director)
  • Albert Lee, PhD (Deputy Program Director)
  • Wendy Taddei-Peters, PhD (Clinical Trials Specialist)
  • David J. Gordon, MD, PhD (Clinical Trials Specialist)
  • Nancy Geller, PhD (Biostatistician)
  • Neal Jeffries, PhD (Biostatistician)
  • Amy Connolly (Grants Management)


  • Claudia Moy, PhD

Canadian Institutes of Health Research

  • Ilana Kogan Gombos, PhD
  • Jennifer Ralph

Alumni Sites

East Carolina Heart Institute T. Bruce Ferguson, MD
Malissa J. Harris, RN, BSN
Inova Fairfax HospitalAlan M. Speir, MD
Minh Dang, Clinical Research Associate
WellStar Kennestone HospitalWilliam A. Cooper, MD
George Kramer, MD
Tauri Harden, RN, BSN
Baystate Medical Center John Rousou, MD
Barbara Burkott, RN, BSN, CCRP
Lankenau Medical CenterScott Goldman, MD
Susan Herring, RN, BSN, M.Ed.
University of ChicagoValluvan Jeevanandam, MD
Elizabeth Johnson
Washington UniversityRalph J. Damiano Jr., MD
Tracey Guthrie, RN
Yale New HavenAbeel Mangi, MD
Lynn Wilson